With paintings in mind, i have decided to draw out the descriptions first in order to establish the composition of the paintings. These are three of the descriptions that i want to experiment with before turning them into paintings. They are only rough tho…

As i moved from one drawing to the next i began to notice how the style of them changed. I think this was mainly to do with the descriptions i was reading. The first one was very sketchy and basic and didn’t allow for much interpretation at all. In fact it is even difficult to figure out where this place is.

The second drawing i completed was slightly less literal and slightly more abstract. The scale was no longer of any importance to me but the configuration of the setting came together more allowing for the landscape to take an actual form. You can actually imagine this being a real place. But in my opinion i am not totally convinced by this one…

The third drawing i did is my favourite. It combines elements of reality allowing the drawing to take some literal form but it is also heavily distorted by depth and scale. When i showed this to my crit group and tutor they all gave me feedback to suggest that i should continue with this style…

Interestingly, after showing my group the work they said that i should consider scaling my work down to produce more intricate, abstract landscapes. So i guess this is something i need to continue with a develop over the course of the next 5 weeks.

